Better party favors

May 18, 2009 at 9:00 am 2 comments

crayonsLast year I wrote a post about my son’s birthday party- and all the “convenience items” that I used. That year, I did what I needed to do, but with acknowledgement that I would try to “walk my talk” a bit more the following year.

This year I wanted to give party favors that reflected that sentiment. As this party was the first big party I have thrown for him, they had to be reasonable in cost. I am also having the party at an outside venue, where the party is “thrown” for you, so making a craft to take home was not an option. In my search, I found a site www.etsy.com , that specializes in home-made gifts. On this site a vendor, art2theextreme, sells these great recycled crayons made into fun shapes. She wraps them beautifully and they are reasonably priced.

This could also be done at home by taking scraps of crayons, peeling off the paper, putting in a muffin tin putting them in the oven, baking at 150 or 200 until melted and then allowing to cool. You can use candy or soap molds to create fun shapes.  Maybe I will try this sometime, but for now I rest easy knowing I supported a school teacher that is recycling things to create great gifts.

Entry filed under: Tidbits. Tags: , , .

Greens in a glass Cloth Diapering by Stephanie Daniel

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nicole Lewis  |  July 26, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Wow. Thank you so much for the nice comments. The photo is great too! I am so glad they were a success! Just ran across this post tonight…

    Reply
  • 2. saralavan  |  July 27, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Glad you found us! I hope others have contacted you about your cool favors…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Become a fan on Facebook!


